Asia Pacific Energy Portal

The United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP) is the regional development arm of the United Nations for the Asia-Pacific region. ESCAP is made up of 53 Member States and 9 Associate Members, with a geographical scope that stretches from Turkey in the west to the Pacific island nation of Kiribati in the east, and from the Russian Federation in the north to New Zealand in the south.
The Asia Pacific Energy Portal is one aspect of ESCAP’s support to regional member States under the Asian and Pacific Energy Forum (APEF). The 2013 APEF Ministerial Declaration and Plan of Action and Commission Resolution 70/9 have established the regional energy agenda and request the secretariat to provide implementation support, facilitate knowledge exchange, and review and assess progress leading up to APEF 2018. The portal has been designed to serve as an informational foundation, helping to meet that mandate and support ESCAP’s ongoing energy-related activities. The portal was launched at the 71st Commission Session in May 2015.

Link to resource

Share this

Sectors: Buildings, Industry, Power sector, Transport

Country / Region: Asia

Tags: , ,

Knowledge Object: Tool / Instrument

Published by: Asia Pacific Energy Portal